January 2022

The Medical School announces the launch of The Peter Kopelman and Andreas Charalambous Founders Prize. Starting from the academic year 2021-2022, the prize will be offered annually following a donation by the late Professor Peter Kopelman and Professor Andreas Charalambous, who worked together in establishing the UNIC Medical School in 2011, as Principal of St George’s, University of London and Executive Dean of the UNIC Medical School respectively.

The prize will be €500, accompanied by a letter of achievement and will be shared by the MBBS and the MD graduands who achieved the highest cumulative scores in their programme of study.

The selection process is as follows:

  • For the MD programme, the graduand who achieved the highest cumulative average percentage in courses between Years 2 and 6 and OSCEs only in Years 5 and 6, and passed all exams at first attempt will receive the award.
  • For the MBBS programme, the graduand who achieved the highest average percentage in written exams across all years and OSCEs only in P and F Years, and passed all exams at first attempt will receive the award.
  • Both graduands should have a clear professionalism record.

The Prize was approved by the University Senate and Council and it is the School’s highest academic award. The Prize will be awarded during the Medical School Graduation Ceremony.

The University and the Medical School are grateful to the late Professor Peter Kopelman who passed away in July 2021, and Professor Andreas Charalambous for founding the successful Medical School in Cyprus, and for their most generous donation to acknowledge and reward the achievements of medical students.