The 8th Graduation Ceremony of the University of Nicosia Medical School took place at the UNIC Open Amphitheatre on Tuesday 28 June 2022.

Among the invited guests was the Minister of Health Mr Michalis Hajdipantela and representatives of medical councils, societies and affiliated hospitals.

In his welcome speech Dean Professor Andreas Charalambous congratulated the graduating class and proudly mentioned the 99.8% employment rate of the School’s graduates.  He showcased the School’s research activity and added that the Medical School is the steam engine of the University in regards to research and publications contributing significantly to the international rankings of the University.

In his message, read by Senior Vice Rector Professor Constantinos Phellas, Rector Professor Philippos Pouyioutas referred to the European University Association Vision 2030, “Universities without Walls” and urged the graduates to play their part in transforming the world into a better, greener, digital, and more inclusive and peaceful place which no longer tolerates inequality and injustice and which strives to achieve zero hunger and to promote good health and well-being for all.

Three personalities from Cyprus were awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of Science in acknowledgment of their contribution to the health sector of Cyprus and to medicine: Lakis Anastassiades for the recording of the history of medicine in Cyprus and for his contribution to medicine, Anna Achilleoudi for her dedication to cancer care, as founder and president of the Cyprus Association of Cancer Patients and Friends (PASYKAF), and for her contribution to medicine, former Minister of Health Constantinos Ioannou for his vision, determination and efforts to implement the General Healthcare System in Cyprus and for his efforts to manage and control the pandemic.

The Panos Englezos Prize was awarded to Alan R. Cohen, Emeritus Professor at Perelman School of Medicine of the University of Pennsylvania. The Prize was established by the Thalassaemia International Federation (TIF) and is jointly awarded by the Medical School and TIF on a biennial basis. The award is presented to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the public health sector or who has created scientific or medical advancement in the prevention, management and improvement in the quality of life of patients with haemoglobin disorders.

The ceremony ended with the new doctors publicly taking the Hippocratic Oath.

The graduating students had completed one of the following programmes of study: MD (Doctor of Medicine), MBBS (Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery), Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Sciences, Master of Science in Family Medicine, Master of Science in Health Services Administration, and Master of Public Health.