On Saturday, 7 May 2022, the Mobile Clinic in collaboration with the Pantheo Eye Center travelled to Kyperounda to perform ophthalmology checks.

Eighteen medical student volunteers joined the expedition along with four Ophthalmologists from Pantheo Eye Cente: Dr Theodoros Potamites, Dr Katia Papastavrou, Dr Antigoni Koukkouli and Dr Alexandros Topalides.

The Mobile Clinic team made a first stop in Limassol, at the Pantheo Eye Center, to pick up the necessary equipment for the expedition.  After one hour driving through the scenic mountainous roads of Troodos, the team arrived in Kyperounda where it was welcomed by the local officials.

Forty patients visited the eye-clinic from 10:30am to 1:00pm. The student volunteers were responsible for taking patient histories and performing eye pressure and visual acuity testing.  They also had the opportunity to observe, assist and learn from the Ophthalmologists who performed the screenings for ophthalmological diseases.

“Being the first mobile clinic that I attended, the Eye clinic at Kyperounda village with the Pantheo team was definitely an eye-opener for me. Not only did we get exposure to actual patients in the community setting, but we also learnt eye examination procedures that we wouldn’t have been otherwise exposed to at this point of learning, especially the slit lamp and the rebound tonometer which seemed intimidating to operate at first. I am very grateful for the trust that the community and the Medical School placed in us.” Ian Luke, MBBS, Class of 2024

“The mobile eye clinic to the picturesque Kyperounda village was a unique and deeply enjoyable experience for us all. A personal highlight was learning how to examine the retina using the slit lamp microscope. Something that we study in textbooks but yet only learned through the help of the Ophthalmologists attending the mobile eye clinic. I am grateful to the University for this learning opportunity and look forward to future expeditions.” Nathanael Yap, MBBS, Class of 2024

Student volunteers: Maamoun Adra, Nour El Ghazal, Ian Luke, Reem Matar, Timothy Oluwaremi, Bernice Sim, Nathanael Yap, Annefa Burke, Marios Lemonaris, Hashim Shaaban, Henry Sharpe, Aline Derlagen, Amin Tavakoli, Christopher Quelch, Eden Rabin, Lama ZenEddin, , Yousef Kordi, Manisha Weerakkody (Student Leader).