17 July 2023

The second University of Nicosia Medical School Student Research Conference (UNMS-SRC) took place on Saturday, 27 May 2023. It was conducted in a hybrid mode, delivering both physically and via live streaming. The UNMS-SRC was organised by the Medical School Student Society (MSSS) in collaboration with the Medical Students Research Society (MSRS), along with the faculty and administrative staff of the Medical School. Students from all of the School’s undergraduate and postgraduate programmes were invited and attended the Conference, and a total of 11 students presented their research work.

Dr Dionysios Vaidakis, Clinical Assistant Professor and Coordinator of the MSc in Family Medicine, was the keynote speaker. He delivered a presentation on ‘Developing evidence in medicine: Autologous platelet-rich plasma for assisted reproduction’.

During the conference, the ‘Best Oral Presentation Award’ was given to Mr Kyle Alexander, a 5th Year student of the MD programme, for his oral presentation titled ‘The “not so good” thyroid cancer: a scoping review on risk factors associated with anxiety, depression, and quality of life’. The ‘Best Poster Presentation Award’ was given to Mr Abdelrahim Elbashir Elsadek Elmejrab, another 5th Year student of the MD programme, for his poster presentation on ‘Secondary hyperparathyroidism (SHPT) from hypovitaminosis D in a young man with hypertensive crisis and target organ damage’. The attendees of the Conference voted online for ‘The Most Inspiring Research Project Award’, which was given to Ms Maria Witkowiak, a 5th Year student of the MD Programme, for her oral presentation on ‘Food Insecurity in University student populations’.

Furthermore, in recognition of students’ achievements beyond the Conference, the “Dr Lakis C. Anastassiades Prize in the History of Medicine” was awarded to Ms Irene Papapetrou, a 4th Year student of the MD programme.

The Medical School would like to extend its gratitude to MSSS, MSRS, the faculty members who supervised the student research projects, Student Services, the Conference Organising Committee and the Conference Evaluation and Award Committees, as well as all the students who either presented or participated in the Conference.